2016 Fiction Winners

Announcing the Contest Victors

Again this year, the many excellent stories submitted to IDAHO magazine’s annual Fiction Contest required a lot of time and discussion among the judges to choose the winners. Congratulations, all! A number of the winning stories from 2016 and previous years are posted on this website under the Contests tab on the home page.


First: Korbin Heitzman, The Troll and the Giant Hamster

Second: Lucy Pietsch, The Trip

Third (tie): Lella Aicher,  The Elephant’s Feet and  Gina Greenberg, Strayed from the Herd


First: Terri Picone, River Train

Second:  Travis Lay, The Miracle Cave

Third (tie): Bonnie Dodge, Lost Near Atlanta and Ashley J. Mayes, Daddy Longlegs & Dead Magpies


Previous first-place winners in the Adult category are entered in this competition.

First: Les Tanner, The Perfect Fly

Second: Margaret Koger, Finding Sparky

Third: Margaret Koger, A Hard Fall


These awards are for the top choice from one (or more) of the six judges. They may or may not have won other awards.

Terri Picone, River Train

Barbara Olic-Hamilton, Too Dark

Peter D. McQuade, Lucky Peak Sea Monster

Mike Nichols, A Silent Passing

Khaliela S. Wright, Wild at Heart


Teresa M. Mull, A Mountain Man’s Motto


This content is available for purchase. Please select from available options.
Register & Purchase  Purchase Only

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *